You Were Never Really Mine


alone-girl-cute-jeans-beachDear you,

I think I know now,

The big reason you were so hard to lose

Is because I never really had you

In the first place

 

You never allowed yourself to just love me

Without worrying more about if I loved you

Or fearing that the past would repeat itself

Or our future would end badly

 

You were always on the lookout for signs

That what we had wasn’t real

And so it never really was

I know it’s all that you believe

 

I think I know now

The only reason why you left me broken

And I think I do realize now,

The way you said that you don’t deserve me

 

Because you were never really mine.

 

3 thoughts on “You Were Never Really Mine

Leave a Reply

